You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Talk about anything that takes your fancy in this forum (within reason of course)! Includes a dedicated sub-forum for forum games. :cool:

Moderators: spotify95, S2M, Kyx, pinkteddyx64

User avatar
spotify95
A jungle man
Posts: 7473
Joined: November 22nd, 2015, 2:24 pm
Reputation: 808
Gender: Male

You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby spotify95 » August 6th, 2020, 6:46 pm

You can't perform a Speedrun from London to Faversham on HS1 on Train Simulator!

In case anyone is wondering, I'm talking about this route: https://store.steampowered.com/app/2225 ... ute_AddOn/

If you're traveling towards London St Pancras, then you're OK - until you come out of the tunnel at London St Pancras, in which case you'll derail if you're going too fast.

Going the other way, out of London, and you get this...

https://youtu.be/02YeMkZUOoU?t=2065

(Skip ahead to 34:25)

https://youtu.be/za7VUZznJNM?t=669

(Skip ahead to 11:09)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7aeBPalstc&t=963

(Skip ahead to 16:03)

https://youtu.be/k5rix57BEjQ?t=840

(Skip ahead to 14:00)

As all of the scenarios above demonstrate, trying to perform a Speedrun (where you try and get from source to destination as quickly as possible, with no regards to any speed limits) will result in hitting a Class 395 train that is on the line - no matter which train you choose to drive. (Assuming that your chosen train can go above 140mph.)
Ouch.


User avatar
pinkteddyx64
The king of the jungle
Posts: 421316
Joined: February 12th, 2014, 10:09 pm
Reputation: 1195
Location: Scunthorpe
Gender: Male

Re: You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby pinkteddyx64 » August 6th, 2020, 6:57 pm

:doh2:


Imageeriously, life's too short to be worried about retards on an internet forum. :eek2: :eek3:
Image
User avatar
spotify95
A jungle man
Posts: 7473
Joined: November 22nd, 2015, 2:24 pm
Reputation: 808
Gender: Male

Re: You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby spotify95 » August 6th, 2020, 7:09 pm

pinkteddyx64 wrote::doh2:

It's a shame though, as it would be nice to go faster than otherwise permitted - you'd get to your destination in good time!

If only Speedruns were allowed in real life...


User avatar
pinkteddyx64
The king of the jungle
Posts: 421316
Joined: February 12th, 2014, 10:09 pm
Reputation: 1195
Location: Scunthorpe
Gender: Male

Re: You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby pinkteddyx64 » August 6th, 2020, 7:54 pm

spotify95 wrote:
pinkteddyx64 wrote::doh2:

It's a shame though, as it would be nice to go faster than otherwise permitted - you'd get to your destination in good time!

If only Speedruns were allowed in real life...

British Rail used to do speed runs with their Intercity 125s, running them at their maximum speeds of 150mph! :eek2: Yes, 150mph was the maximum design speed for the 125s, despite their namesake. But several restrictions prevented them from regularly going faster than 125mph.


Imageeriously, life's too short to be worried about retards on an internet forum. :eek2: :eek3:
Image
User avatar
spotify95
A jungle man
Posts: 7473
Joined: November 22nd, 2015, 2:24 pm
Reputation: 808
Gender: Male

Re: You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby spotify95 » August 12th, 2020, 12:24 am

pinkteddyx64 wrote:
spotify95 wrote:
pinkteddyx64 wrote::doh2:

It's a shame though, as it would be nice to go faster than otherwise permitted - you'd get to your destination in good time!

If only Speedruns were allowed in real life...

British Rail used to do speed runs with their Intercity 125s, running them at their maximum speeds of 150mph! :eek2: Yes, 150mph was the maximum design speed for the 125s, despite their namesake. But several restrictions prevented them from regularly going faster than 125mph.

Apparently, the maximum record that was obtained via a set on Intercity 125 trains, was 148mph - which is the fastest speed for a diesel train! (Diesel trains didn't go faster than 125mph in service.)

The problem with high speed running is the signalling in use; speeds above 125mph require in cab signalling, which the vast majority of trains don't have. I know that the the trains for HS1 have the appropriate signalling, but I don't know what else! (Also, the Intercity 225s are only allowed to go at 201km/h, instead of 225km/h, for the same reason - no in cab signalling.)


User avatar
pinkteddyx64
The king of the jungle
Posts: 421316
Joined: February 12th, 2014, 10:09 pm
Reputation: 1195
Location: Scunthorpe
Gender: Male

Re: You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby pinkteddyx64 » August 12th, 2020, 12:36 am

spotify95 wrote:
pinkteddyx64 wrote:
spotify95 wrote:
pinkteddyx64 wrote::doh2:

It's a shame though, as it would be nice to go faster than otherwise permitted - you'd get to your destination in good time!

If only Speedruns were allowed in real life...

British Rail used to do speed runs with their Intercity 125s, running them at their maximum speeds of 150mph! :eek2: Yes, 150mph was the maximum design speed for the 125s, despite their namesake. But several restrictions prevented them from regularly going faster than 125mph.

Apparently, the maximum record that was obtained via a set on Intercity 125 trains, was 148mph - which is the fastest speed for a diesel train! (Diesel trains didn't go faster than 125mph in service.)

The problem with high speed running is the signalling in use; speeds above 125mph require in cab signalling, which the vast majority of trains don't have. I know that the the trains for HS1 have the appropriate signalling, but I don't know what else! (Also, the Intercity 225s are only allowed to go at 201km/h, instead of 225km/h, for the same reason - no in cab signalling.)

Imagine getting run over at a level crossing at 148mph! :eek2:


Imageeriously, life's too short to be worried about retards on an internet forum. :eek2: :eek3:
Image
User avatar
spotify95
A jungle man
Posts: 7473
Joined: November 22nd, 2015, 2:24 pm
Reputation: 808
Gender: Male

Re: You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby spotify95 » August 13th, 2020, 10:36 am

pinkteddyx64 wrote:
spotify95 wrote:
pinkteddyx64 wrote:
spotify95 wrote:
pinkteddyx64 wrote::doh2:

It's a shame though, as it would be nice to go faster than otherwise permitted - you'd get to your destination in good time!

If only Speedruns were allowed in real life...

British Rail used to do speed runs with their Intercity 125s, running them at their maximum speeds of 150mph! :eek2: Yes, 150mph was the maximum design speed for the 125s, despite their namesake. But several restrictions prevented them from regularly going faster than 125mph.

Apparently, the maximum record that was obtained via a set on Intercity 125 trains, was 148mph - which is the fastest speed for a diesel train! (Diesel trains didn't go faster than 125mph in service.)

The problem with high speed running is the signalling in use; speeds above 125mph require in cab signalling, which the vast majority of trains don't have. I know that the the trains for HS1 have the appropriate signalling, but I don't know what else! (Also, the Intercity 225s are only allowed to go at 201km/h, instead of 225km/h, for the same reason - no in cab signalling.)

Imagine getting run over at a level crossing at 148mph! :eek2:


Most lines that have level crossings aren't high speed lines, due to the risk of people not paying attention to the warning signals/mechanisms, and therefore being struck by a train...

Being struck by a train at any speed will hurt significantly, and you likely won't survive... it really won't matter if it's 125mph or 148mph.


User avatar
spotify95
A jungle man
Posts: 7473
Joined: November 22nd, 2015, 2:24 pm
Reputation: 808
Gender: Male

Re: You can't perform a "Speedrun" from London to Faversham on the HS1 train line! (Train Simulator)

Postby spotify95 » August 16th, 2020, 4:11 pm

Another scenario has been added:

https://youtu.be/k5rix57BEjQ?t=840

The result is, of course, unsurprising. A train that is just accelerating and is only a few hundred meters ahead of you, whilst you're traveling at 140mph+... you can kinda guess what the outcome is.

You can't perform a Speedrun from London St Pancras to Ebbsfleet (or Faversham) on the High Speed HS1 train lines!



Return to “Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron